My experience of the Plumbing nerf

There has been some discussion already about the pluming nerf, none of which I have partaken in (until now) or even read (except one specific post). I only know of it due to some of the topic lines of players talking about the nerf itself, either liking or hating the nerf. I want to contribute to this discussion by relaying my subjective experience of the nerf in the hopes that the nerf can be readjusted, or perhaps even have chemistry receive a rework.

Some background first:

1. I like complex systems and machinery
  2. I am inexperienced with chemistry and plumbing on beestation
  3. I have never attempted pre-nerf plumbing, and thus have no attachment to pre-nerf plumbing

When I joined the active round on beestation as a chemist, I already had some experience with chemistry on yogstation, so I made a bunch of superior healing medicines for everyone who was injured. I got bored after this, so decided to try out plumbing, mostly relying on the guide to plumbing hosted on the wiki.

Though the guide was useful, it was outdated. The most obvious thing to notice was the outdated sprites, but graphical changes don’t change the advice on the wiki, so I thought I was solid. I immediately decided I wanted to make a meth factory, so I went to set up synthesizers and the reaction chamber. First step was to make Ammonia, so I hooked the factories together, and it didn’t work. I fiddled with the inputs to the reaction chamber and outputs from the synthesizers, I tried plungering the reaction chamber to see if something was clogging the pipes, I even installed a chemical tank to make sure I wasn’t just reading something wrong. Eventually I gave up, and searched up what the issue was.