Revert power cells + chargers + tools

Old tools + cells were visually distinct and easy to identify. Even as a complete noob you could easily tell what each tool was supposed to be at a glance, and they fit with the other sprites. New tools are a total mismatch with the /tg/ background, when I first saw them I genuinely thought you ported them from Eris. They don’t match and frankly the power cells are just an eyesore, mushy blobs of color with no clean edges.

I can distinct them easily, because i already spent some time looking at them.
And they ARE currently a mismatch, until you realise that its the start of a total resprite project led by some folks at bee, which will unify the sprites of the game under one coherent style. I like new tools more, and i cant wait until their work is finished.

Pretty much what barrelbox said, Azlan wants to resprite every department and their equipment, right now there’s a PR on github respriting engineering but it didn’t get merged or testmerged yet.

If you’re going to resprite the whole game, why do it piece by piece? That could take actual years depending on community involvement and in the meantime it will look like shit. Just sprite things behind the scenes or copy Eris’ sprites, since that’s essentially what’s being made anyways

I mean, as far as im aware the tools pr in particular was made to showcase the actual work being done, but.
If they ARE going to roll it all out piece by piece its gonna be easier to collect feedback in time and gauge progress.

Yeah, I saw that. He praised the Yog canister design on that PR too… and anyone who’s played Yog knows how blurry and weird their canisters look. The art style he’s using looks nice with a single color background but when you make a whole game out of it it looks(imo) very soulless and clean. Basically, you need to fill in the gaps:

Tg graphics are simple and janky enough that you use your imagination to fill in the gaps, like dwarf fortress.