Is virology too slow?

I am pretty new to SS13, but I have worked almost all the science, service, and medic jobs and out of those virology is simply the slowest. It almost takes 40 or 50 minutes, a little bit faster if you are better and have a real good cargo team and whatnot.
And if you have an evil disease people can simply health analyse themselves and start chugging the cure and the good ones are not as good as simpler to make genetic changes or robot augmentations.

I have yet to notice any disease on like 50 rounds or so I played here. Normally only antags kill the virologist and at most setup their base there since nobody is ever going to botherm them there.

Some suggestions I brainstormed:

1. The viral Extrapolator scans a lot faster. There is no reason for a single scan to take 5 seconds on an allready super slow job.

2. The Viral Extrapolator can print symptoms and combine them so you dont have to do a lot of unnessecary worksteps.

3. New and better symptoms with more difficult cures.

Maybe people here can correct me?

Viro is a slow job with barely any upsides but sometimes you pull off some fun stuff that’s good for you

old viro used to be fun and that was too much for the coders, so they nerfed it into the ground.

basically, in the viro of yore, it was all about random chance. you could manipulate the RNG a bit, like you can now, but at the end of the day it was all luck whether or not you got the symptoms you wanted for the disease you wished to build. symptoms were also way, way better (i miss the old healing viruses that didn’t drop you into a coma and thus get you killed in any combat encounter). my guess is they nerfed old viro to hell because nanites came out so having two regeneration things was too strong.

2 Likes

I thought you could upgrade it

Extrapolator is upgradable. Use a screwdriver on it to remove the current scanner, then slot in a new scanner.