What Crew Should/Shouldn't Know about Antags?

In Gerenal, I think all crew should be aware that antags in some form or another exist. But their actual details of what they may be carrying or abilities should be only known to Command Staff and Security.

For example. I’m an Engineer and get called to the Janitor because his APC is not working. Their APC is Dark Blue and malfunctioning. My Engineer is aware that this is out of the ordinary and should be reported to Sec. My Engineer then replaces the board with a new one so the Janitor’s room is fully functioning again and goes about his shift. Now I know that this is a sign of an Emagged APC (door wasn’t emagged and not in a prominent location to be widely noticed so probably not), Ninja (haven’t seen one in ages) or MALF (It was). My Engineer did not know this and did not consequently start spamming “MALF” in chat. Just reported to Sec and let them make the decision.

What do crew know about then? With the existence of the “Xeno Maid” costume and stuff, I think Xenomorphs should be widely known about (but not always believed, like a fairy tale). Blob is questionable, as without prior knowledge, it can be hard to describe in a sentence or 2, making it easier if crew know what one is. Wizard, crew should be aware they exist, but know what their powers could be.

3 Likes

As you mentionned, job should have priority in your character’s knowledge towards antagonist and maybe general lore.

As a simple example, chaplains and Curator are occult professional/nerds which makes them recognise all/most (for the curator) cultist and paranormal activities.

5 Likes

curators/chap - cults,heretics,revenants,wizards,demons
medics,janitors - slauther demon (blood training)
engineers - swarmers
sec/command - all obviously
botanists - space vines
xenobiologists - slimes