Something I have noticed

I am fairly new to SS13 and BeeStation is the first (currently only) server I play on.
So far I am loving it. I see the pros and cons, but then again I have been watching my husband play since just before golden ended and now I am playing.

I digress, lately, I read the Wiki and forums regularly since starting, but one that I have not noticed was the negligence in handling AFK players in “key” roles. I am not talking about pivotal roles like Captain, AI, HOS, etc. I mean roles like Cook, Botantist, Bartender, and Chemist roles. Some of these may not seem pivotal (at least from what I have read) but shouldn’t there be some sort of AFK timer that if a player is inactive (movement, speech, actions, etc.) for an X period of time, their role should be opened up for someone else to join?
Such as with the pods; you can enter a pod and if you disconnect or close the browser, your role is opened up. It’s the “respectable” way to exit a game if you have to without blocking the round from progressing/other players from joining if there is a queue.

I have noticed a few rounds where a cook or bartender goes AFK for half or all of the round and just sits there. For someone who is wanting to play these roles, it is annoying to see someone wasting it and it is also concerning when the crew needs food to survive. The more nutritious food is, the less likely hunger is to happen over time so vending machine food will not cut it in the long term.

Tell me if I am crazy but I have noticed a diminishing value in some rounds because of AFK players as soon as the round starts.

7 Likes

I think theres something in the wiki about if a pkayer has been afk (SSD) for long enough its acceptable to take them and put them in a cryo pod if that helps at all

3 Likes

Sounds like a cool idea! you should open an issue on github with some indications, maybe someone could code it!