Pre- Forum Nuke Post: Weeping Angels

This is a re-post of a write up I did before the forums changed in Fall 2019. I’m porting it over to the new forum:

Hi. Just created an account. I’ve been playing for a few months now and I’ve come up with some new ideas.

I have posted several ideas in discord but I’ve never made an account on the forums until now.

Here’s the Idea: Weeping Angels — the killer statues from Doctor Who.

In doctor who, they are killer statues, that cannot move if they are seen…they are statues. But when they are not seen they are super fast and deadly, and in Doctor who if you are touched by them you are warped back in time. Arguably they are one of the most terrifying monsters in that franchise.

Obviously in game they may function a bit differently. However, It may surprise you but they already practically exist in the code as a wizard spell combo. So a ton of work is already done for you.

I personally think that with some proper modifications of existing code they may be a very fun mid round antagonist.

They don’t have a listing on the “races” page, and don’t appear to have a name, so I am calling them “weeping angels” from now on.

They are already functionally in the game, but they are not their own antagonist, they only exist as something obscure that the wizard can do. I’d like to see if we can change that.

With some minor tweaks I think this can be an utterly terrifying antagonist.

I have already tested on Centcom over the last couple of days and it is quite functional, but only if the wizard makes you into one.

Background:

I noticed while reading the wiki on the wizard antags that if you use the “Flesh to stone” spell to turn a player into a statue then hit them with a bolt from the “Staff of Animation” that you make an evil servant that essentially IS a weeping angel.

(wiki for reference: https://tgstation13.org/wiki/Wizard )